[Destination]: A New Me

I’m tired.  It’s really tough to keep picking yourself up after a brawl, but it’s even worse when the only opponent in the room is…you.  Why do I beat myself up?  Because even as I sit here, I focus on the wrong things.  I focus on the things that are not going the way I want them to in my life.  I focus on the things that I wish were different, the things that I want to change but feel helpless to change, and the things that are temporary.  But wishing only gets you so far.  And that feeling of helplessness?  Well, I’m not helpless.  And even this body I cannot take into eternity.  So it’s time to suck it up and start caring.  It’s time to start seeing myself as I see my children: as a precious and wondrous gift from God.  I am not a mistake.  I was put on this earth to do great things…so it’s time to start doing them.

First stop on this never-ending track of self-actualization is living the life that I pray my children will live as they grow older: one of health, vitality, service and love.  If I want others to live their lives that way, I darn well better start loving myself enough to live my life to the fullest.  One way is to stop beating myself up physically, mentally, and emotionally.  I am making a public pledge today to get my health back.  For the next 4 weeks, I pledge to ask myself these two questions before I eat any food: 1. Will this food nourish/fuel me?; and 2. Will I enjoy this food?  And, I will answer those questions truthfully.  I also pledge to make the following actions on a daily basis: 1. eat a large salad once a day; 2. eat 2-3 fresh fruits daily; 3. eat 1 oz. of nuts daily; and 4. eat at least one large serving of steamed green vegetables per day.  Before I sit at the table to eat any snack or meal, I will drink one large glass of water and decide whether I am truly hungry.

Maybe this sounds superficial or selfish, but the way I see it is that if I love the people in my life enough to want health for them, then I need to live it out instead of just preaching it.  So that’s my pledge.  I will renew this pledge every four weeks.  I will add, subtract, modify and re-evaluate the words of this pledge as needed.  2013 will be my healthiest year yet…and I’m going to show the world that I love it by living as an example of the values I hold dear.  It may be a little early to make a New Years Resolution, but it’s never too early to start living life the way it was intended.  And I can’t wait to get started.

Many blessings throughout this holiday season, and I hope you all have a very Merry Christmas!

Leave a comment