[Destination]: Sanity

Wow…I am really terrible at this whole blogging thing.  Oh well; things have been busy, and my life has been utterly disorganized.  Such is life.  However, I’m searching for some sanity, and I’m slowly on my way there.

Image

I am determined to get my life/home in order before this next baby comes.  We have too much stuff, so in order to get my life on track and not feel so overwhelmed, I am simplifying…everything.  We finally completed the renovation of our downstairs powder room.  Now that it’s finished, the entire downstairs looks uniform and has really come together.  Check that one off the list.  It has also inspired me to begin a spending freeze.  Not because it cost a ton of money to renovate a small powder room (not that it was cheap either – it was a total gut), but it put things into perspective.  In order to prepare for the reno, I had to clean out the ginormous cabinets that were in there.  For about the five-hundredth time.  It felt great to get rid of stuff, but it also reminded me of how much of the same thing we often accumulate.  When I don’t know where stuff is, the common thought is that we don’t have any; therefore, I must go buy more.  Well, I have more than enough of just about everything.  Hence, the spending freeze.  But, what does that actually mean?

For the next 31 days, I am purging things, organizing things, and cleaning things to find out what I already have.  This includes food.  I’ve already inventoried my pantry and freezer.  Now, I’m going to make meals from whatever I currently have (I’ll buy some necessary staples as needed like milk, eggs, bread, and fresh fruits and veggies), and eat through some of the excess that we’ve acquired.  And I’m not kidding when I say excess!  You should see the lists I wrote for both areas of my kitchen!

I got this idea from Living Well, Spending Less, a blog that I really enjoy following and have taken a lot of tips from already.  Ruth has done a great job of showing just how to accomplish the goal of spending $0 over the next month, and I’m looking forward to giving it a shot.  

I’m also looking forward to the sanity that will come from all of this simplifying.  Her other tips have been really excellent and helpful as well, but I haven’t yet put them into full practice.  I’m ready to let go of the excess and everything else that results from it.  Call it nesting, call it crazy, call it whatever you want…but think about a few things that you could get rid of that could cause you a little less chaos and a little more relief in your own home.  Give it a shot; you’ve got nothing to lose!

Leave a Reply

