[Destination]: Clean Fridge!

I’m so excited to be cleaning out my house.  It’s so refreshing!  And, trust me when I tell you, this is completely uncharacteristic of me.  For those that know me, you’re probably wondering who has taken over and where the real Michelle has gone.  Don’t worry…it’s still me.  I’m just on a quest for that ideal sense of sanity.  I’m inching closer each and every day.

So today was Clean the Refrigerator Day.  I really hate cleaning things out/organizing/cleaning in general, so this project was looooonnnnngggg overdue.  Here is my before picture:

ImagePretty basic refrigerator.

To start, of course, I pulled everything out and loaded up my small kitchen counter and dining room table. 

Image

It really is amazing how much we can actually fit into our refrigerator.

ImageSome things I had no idea we still had.  Scary.

Once everything was out of the fridge, I started pulling out all the shelves and drawers.  I wiped down the inside of the fridge, and then washed and dried all of the shelves and drawers.  All in all, this project took a full 2 hours of my morning.  Once everything was cleaned, I got rid of (my favorite part) all expired or downright yucky food.  My trash can is full…again.  Then, I figured out a much more desirable organizational strategy for my shelves and how to stock them.  This was the end product:

Image

Ahh…I literally breathed a sigh of relief.  I can see what’s in my fridge!

What a difference!  Now that I can see what we have, I’ll better know what we truly need in the future.  Hopefully, we won’t continue to buy 10 salad dressings at once, which mean we’ll use what we have…which means we’ll save money!  SCORE!

When was the last time you cleaned out your refrigerator?  Even just got rid of expired items?  Don’t let it go too long!

 

 

Leave a Reply

