[Destination]: The Slow Lane

Yes, I know.  Many people are always looking for the shortcut, the easy way, or the fast track.  But, honestly, it doesn’t really seem to get us any further along in our lives.  At least it doesn’t seem that way in mine.

This morning, as my kids were playing outside in the backyard, I heard sirens that seemed to be coming to our neighborhood.  We live near a rather busy road, so I didn’t think too much of it.  Then, the helicopters (yes, plural) came.  I mentioned to the girls that there must have been a bad accident somewhere close by.  “How do you know?” the girls wondered.  Because of the helicopters and sirens I was hearing and seeing, I explained.  We went in the house for lunch, and I decided we should probably leave a little earlier than usual to get Big B to preschool.  Of course, as we pulled out of our development, the road was backed up like crazy.  We wound our way north to preschool, and our 10 minute trip turned into 35 minutes.  But we made it.

When I left to pick Big B up from preschool, I again tried to pad my time just in case the main road was still closed.  It wasn’t.  I made all of two turns and almost witnessed another accident about 500 yards from where the earlier accident had occurred.  An SUV attempted to make a left onto the main road at the same time a sedan was making a left onto his road.  My heart about stopped.  All just to beat the oncoming traffic.  Yikes.

Are we all really in that much of a hurry that we risk our lives on a regular basis just to “beat the traffic”?  Having two small children and one on the way has really changed my perspective on this.  “Just take your time.  You’ll get there when you get there” is what I continually tell myself nowadays.  My husband can attest to my attitude change; it’s only been a recent one.  Our lives are precious, all of them.  If we have to be somewhere at a certain time, we need to get ourselves going just a little bit earlier.  If we’re running late, it’s not the end of the world.  We’ll get there when we get there, or if we miss it altogether, so be it.  As my husband always says, “I have lots of precious cargo with me.  I’ll take my time.”  God really has blessed me with a wonderful husband who has taught me a lot about patience.  But don’t tell him I said that 😉

I dare you this week to take your time and try to get into the slow lane.  Let people pass you as they rush to their jobs, gatherings, and whatever else they have going on.  Figure out what the most important things are in your life.  Your family and friends would rather have you with them, safe and sound and late, than rushing and making rash decisions.  Put your life and the life of others on a high pedestal…it belongs there.  It’s not worth that extra five minutes you might gain by weaving in and out of traffic, or cutting someone off.  You are important.  Remember that.

Leave a Reply

